Frequently Asked Questions
Will YAC post on my Facebook?
No. YAC will never publish anything on your behalf on Facebook.
Why does YAC require access to my photos?
YAC will show up to 7 photos in your profile. Initial profile photo will be imported from Facebook. You can also upload additional photos from your device.
Why does YAC require I use location settings?
YAC requires GPS and access to the internet to determine your location and the users around you.
If location settings are disabled and you do not have access to the internet, YAC will still identify users that are nearby through Bluetooth.
What are the profiles that I see on Around screen?
Users on Around screen are the users that are in your proximity at that point in time. If you are online, the radius is wider and you will be able to see more people around you. Users in your immediate proximity will appear on your Around screen first.
What is the difference between users that I see as Nearby and the rest of the users on my Around screen?
Nearby users are the users that are closest to you and are indicated by direct device to device communication and not by using location settings. Nearby users will also show up on your screen even if you are not connected to internet or have any other connectivity, including locational services.
What happens if I “like” another user?
A “like” is a gesture of recognition. If you like another user, the like will remain active for 24 hours and you will then be able to like the same person once again.
What does it mean if I connect to another user?
You may send an invitation to connect to another user or they may send one to you. Accepting the invitation will connect you in the app.
How do I invite friends to connect with me on YAC?
You have multiple ways to invite people to connect with you in YAC. You can invite your Facebook connections to connect, search for them by name in YAC or connect to people around you or people that appear in your History.
Why can I not chat with people I am not connected with?
You are only able to chat with your contacts. However, you can send one personal message along with connect request to another user. This does not prevent you from liking them.
I know that a certain user liked me, but I cannot see their like any longer. Why?
When you like another user or when they like you, you will only see that like for 24h. After that you will be able to like each other again. This is what makes YAC a real-time app and users that have joined YAC recently are not in a disadvantageous position compared to users that joined us earlier.
What is Influence Score?
Influence Score is your personal social recognition score, which shows how much you get noticed and how much other people interact with you. You can see your Influence Score compared to people around you (which shows how you rank compared to other users in your proximity) or compared to your YAC contacts.
Influence Score screen can be found by swiping right when you are on Around screen.
What is Time Lapse?
Time Lapse is a feature that will tell you whether there have been any other YAC users—ones that are neither your YAC contacts or around you at present—at the same location as you are now within the last 24h.
Time Lapse can be found by swiping left when you are on Around Screen.
Does my rating increase when I invite friends?
Yes, your rating will increase by inviting friends to join YAC.
Is YAC entirely free of charge?
Can I become invisible to other YAC users?
Yes, use the “I don’t want to be seen” feature in Settings. Other users on Around screen will also not be visible to you anymore.
What if I don’t want to be rated for Influence Score?
You can use the “I don’t want to be rated” feature in Settings. You will also not be able to follow other users’ ratings anymore.
How can I block a user?
You can block a user from the user’s profile screen. Block option is located at the bottom of the screen. It is only possible to block users that are not inside your list of contacts. Please keep in mind that this operation is irreversible.
Will a user know it if I block them?
No. The user you are blocking will not know it. They will only stop seeing you on their nearby screen.
Can I unblock a user I blocked?
Not at present.
Why does my Influence Score change all the time even if I received no new likes?
Your Influence Score not only depends on the likes and the amount of social activity you are engaging in, but also on Influence Scores of other users that are nearby or scores of your contacts. Your score, therefore, might change also when other people’s scores change.
Can I chat to people offline?
Not yet. We are working on it. But you can see them around you, like them and connect to them.
What is the difference between Influence Score and likes?
Influence Score is a unique indicator of social acknowledgement that you are receiving from other users. It is combined of multiple elements, such as number of likes you receive, number of connection requests you send out, to number of profile views you get, and other indicators of recognition. It is computed using a proprietary algorithm.